Skip to main content

GE Transportation Technologists Recognized for Excellence

Three GE Transportation employees - Michael Anderson, Velmurugan Veilumuthu, and Cheryle Wilson – are among the winners of GE’s 2016 Edison, Edison Pioneer & Women in Engineering Awards.

GE Chairman and CEO Jeff Immelt recognized these individuals for their significant contributions to GE’s technical innovations and solutions. The trio were among several employees across GE businesses who were recognized during a ceremony on Monday.

About the Awardees:


Michael R. Anderson
Tier 4 Locomotive Program Manager
Edison Award Winner

As the Tier 4 Locomotive  Program Manager for GE Transportation, Mike led the engineering development of GE’s most advanced locomotive to date - the first and only locomotive to meet the U.S. EPA’s stringent emissions standards without the use of after-treatment. Mike worked hand-in-hand with GE engineers to enable what’s proving to be the most reliable new product introduction (NPI) in the history of GE Transportation.



Velmurugan Veilumuthu
Engineering Technology/Program Leader, Engineering SPOC – Sub Sahara Africa Region
Edison Pioneer Award Winner

As the engineering technology/program leader for GE Transportation Engineering - India, Velmurugan provides technical leadership and program direction for the business’s system engineering activities. He also serves as the engineering single point of contact for the Sub Sahara Africa region, addressing the region’s business needs for GE Transportation’s engineering function. He is currently leading the engineering efforts of AEnergia locomotive for Angola and Transnet locomotive programs for South Africa.




Cheryle Wilson
Executive – Digital Transformation Leader for Technology
Women in Engineering Award Winner

As the Digital Transformation Leader for Technology at GE Transportation, Cheryle is responsible for the transformation strategy and execution across the Technology teams as we launch digital tools and processes, such as Digital Twin, Digital Thread, and Predix™ integration.


Named after our company’s founder, GE’s Edison & Edison Pioneer awards are presented to individuals who demonstrate technical excellence, customer impact, and organizational citizenship. The Edison award recognizes senior-level technologists with at least 20 years of technical experience; each winner receives a $25,000 grant to fund research at a university of their choosing. The Edison Pioneer award honors mid-career technologists with a minimum of 10 years of technical experience, with each winner receiving a $10,000 grant to fund research at a university of their choosing. Nominations were solicited earlier this year and winners were selected by Vic Abate, senior vice president and chief technology officer of GE.

A special recognition from the GE Women’s Network, the Women in Engineering award recognizes women engineers across GE for their dedication and leadership. The winners were nominated by leadership across GE and were chosen by Engineering vice presidents and lead general managers; all winners are recognized leaders in their technical field, leaders in their GE community, and leaders in their local community.

Congratulations to all the 2016 winners!



Printer Friendly and PDF